List of cricketers banned for corruption

Originally posted 2023-10-04 22:48:57.

Rate this post
List of cricketers banned for corruption
List of cricketers banned for corruption

Explore the stories of 10 cricketers banned for corruption, including Hansie Cronje, Mohammad Azharuddin, Salman Butt, and more. Learn about their scandals and the duration of their bans.

Cricketers banned for corruption

Cricket, often dubbed the “gentleman’s game,” has had its fair share of controversies over the years. One of the most serious issues that has plagued the sport is corruption. The lure of easy money and the desire to manipulate outcomes has led some cricketers down a dark path. In this article, we will delve into the lives and careers of 10 cricketers who were banned for their involvement in corruption scandals.

1. Hansie Cronje

The Fallen Hero

Hansie Cronje, the former captain of the South African cricket team, was one of the most respected figures in cricket until his shocking fall from grace. In 2000, Cronje admitted to accepting money from bookmakers in exchange for fixing matches. His confession sent shockwaves through the cricketing world, and he was banned from the sport for life.

2. Mohammad Azharuddin

The Stylish Batsman’s Downfall

Mohammad Azharuddin, a stylish and elegant batsman from India, was a beloved figure in Indian cricket. However, in 2000, he was banned for life after being found guilty of match-fixing during his tenure as captain of the Indian cricket team. Azharuddin’s ban was a devastating blow to Indian cricket fans.

3. Salman Butt

The Pakistan Captain’s Shame

Salman Butt, the former captain of the Pakistan cricket team, found himself at the center of a spot-fixing scandal during Pakistan’s tour of England in 2010. Butt, along with teammates Mohammad Asif and Mohammad Amir, conspired to deliberately bowl no-balls at specific times in a Test match. All three players were banned, with Butt receiving a 10-year ban.

4. Mohammad Amir

The Young Talent’s Tragic Mistake

Mohammad Amir, a prodigiously talented fast bowler, was considered the future of Pakistani cricket. However, his involvement in the spot-fixing scandal with Salman Butt and Mohammad Asif tarnished his career. Amir was banned from cricket for five years, but he eventually made a comeback after serving his suspension.

5. Mohammad Asif

The Swing King’s Fall from Grace

Mohammad Asif, known for his prodigious ability to swing the ball both ways, was a key player in Pakistan’s bowling attack. However, his involvement in the spot-fixing scandal alongside Salman Butt and Mohammad Amir brought disgrace to his career. Asif was banned for seven years and never played international cricket again.

6. Marlon Samuels

The West Indies All-Rounder

Marlon Samuels, the West Indies all-rounder, was banned for two years in 2008 after he was found guilty of passing on match-related information to a bookmaker during a one-day series in India. His ban was later extended to a total of three years due to his involvement in other corrupt activities.

7. Sharjeel Khan

The Pakistan Opener’s T20 Blunder

Sharjeel Khan, a promising opener for Pakistan in T20 cricket, was banned for five years in 2017 for his involvement in spot-fixing during the Pakistan Super League (PSL). His ban served as a stark reminder that corruption could creep into even the shortest format of the game.

8. Sreesanth

The Aggressive Indian Pacer

Sreesanth, an aggressive and fiery fast bowler from India, faced a ban from cricket for his involvement in the 2013 Indian Premier League (IPL) spot-fixing scandal. Although his ban was eventually reduced to seven years, it marked the end of his international career.

9. Ajay Sharma

The Domestic Cricket Stalwart

Ajay Sharma, a former Indian cricketer known for his prolific performances in domestic cricket, received a life ban in 2000 for his involvement in match-fixing. His ban highlighted that corruption was not limited to international cricket but could also seep into the domestic circuit.

10. Lou Vincent

The Kiwi’s Tale

Lou Vincent, a New Zealand cricketer known for his explosive batting, was banned for life after confessing to match-fixing and spot-fixing in various cricket leagues around the world. His shocking revelations shed light on the extent of corruption in sports and led to stricter anti-corruption measures.

Here’s a table summarising the information about the 10 cricketers who were banned for corruption:

CricketerCountryScandalBan Duration
Hansie CronjeSouth AfricaMatch-FixingLife Ban
Mohammad AzharuddinIndiaMatch-FixingLife Ban
Salman ButtPakistanSpot-Fixing (2010)10 Years
Mohammad AmirPakistanSpot-Fixing (2010)5 Years
Mohammad AsifPakistanSpot-Fixing (2010)7 Years
Marlon SamuelsWest IndiesMatch-Related Information Passing (2008)3 Years
Sharjeel KhanPakistanSpot-Fixing (2017)5 Years
SreesanthIndiaSpot-Fixing (2013)7 Years
Ajay SharmaIndiaMatch-FixingLife Ban
Lou VincentNew ZealandMatch-Fixing and Spot-Fixing (Various Leagues)Life Ban
List of cricketers banned for corruption

This table provides a concise overview of the cricketers, their respective countries, the scandals they were involved in, and the duration of their bans.

Top 10 Most Overrated Cricketers of All Time Ranked

Who was the first captain of the Indian cricket team?

How Sachin Tendulkar Became the ‘God of Cricket’

Top 10 Best Cricket Captains In The World


Corruption has cast a dark shadow over the world of cricket, tarnishing the careers of talented individuals and shaking the faith of fans. The banning of these 10 cricketers serves as a grim reminder of the importance of maintaining the integrity of the game and the ongoing battle against corruption in cricket. It is imperative that players, officials, and governing bodies remain vigilant and committed to upholding the values of fair play and sportsmanship in cricket.

1 thought on “List of cricketers banned for corruption”

Leave a comment